State Police Detectives

There is a Massachusetts State Police Detective Unit (SPDU) assigned exclusively to the Northwestern District Attorney´s Office. Captain Jeffrey Cahill is the Commander of the SPDU which investigates all types of Major Crimes committed within the Northwestern District, including but not limited to: homicides, sexual assaults, child abuse, white collar crime, computer crimes, public integrity complaints, and illegal narcotic offenses. 

The Anti-Crime Task Force, under the supervision of the SPDU is made up of MSP Troopers, officers from Franklin and Hampshire County Sheriff's Departments, local police departments and federal law enforcement agencies to investigate and prosecute drug cases in the Northwestern District.

The State Police Detective Unit has a proud tradition of protecting the public and solving major crime in the Northwestern District. Former commanders include Det. Lt. John Gibbons (Ret.) currently serving as United States Marshall for the District of Massachusetts; Det. Lt. Thomas Soutier (Ret.); Det. Lt. Susan Cronin (Ret.); Det. Lt. Robin Whitney (Ret.); Det. Lt. John Cummings (Ret.) and Major Michael Habel (currently Troop B Commander).

For more information and assistance, please contact the State Police Detective and Narcotics Units at the Northampton Office of the District Attorney at (413) 586-9225 and in Franklin County at (413) 774-3186.

For more information about the Massachusetts State Police, please visit the official website of the Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety and Security (EOPSS).